Describe a setback that you have experienced. What role did you play, and what did you learn about yourself?

Yellow beauty

I had a bright academic record in my early years till I crossed 12th standard. Life was full of appreciation and accolades of all sorts.

When I entered Engineering, though, life took a different twist. Something was wrong with either me or the exam pattern. In all the semesters, I could manage to pass with good grades; but could never find my rank in top 10.

This had so badly affected my confidence that I was not selected in any of the companies that visited our campus for placements.

As I did not want to sit idle after my graduation, I joined an MBA Entrance Prep class. Not as a student, but as a Front office assistant who would facilitate admissions, collect fees, distribute study material, conduct tests and maintain records. Another important task was to greet the visitors (potential clients :)) in person and over phone.

Don’t be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs. Every time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger. If you do the little jobs well, the big ones will tend to take care of themselves. – Dale Carnegie

While I was pursuing above mentioned job, I found myself comfortable in conversations with people and was not really bothered to apply when I saw an off campus opportunity in B2B Sales division of a reputed firm. I was selected as per expectation and initiated on the job training from the very next day.

Since those two incidences, for past 10 years, I have never been worried about job description or field or kind of business the employer is engaged in. It has been only about a self check if I could use my abilities in the given job, whatsoever.

Adaptability and awareness about your capacities is of prime importance…

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails. – William Arthur Ward.

Your thoughts and experience sharing are welcome… Thanks for reading!

Image

2 thoughts on “Describe a setback that you have experienced. What role did you play, and what did you learn about yourself?

  1. i think this is beautiful! what it says to me is to serve with your heart, give of yourself no matter the role you play (or job you do) in the world. let go of all the physical stuff. the real joy lies within. thank you. i love this 🙂

Leave a Reply

