Writing 101, Day Nine: Changing Moccasins — Point of View

The scene: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry.


 

The Old Woman: 

Oh Dear, this is the third person who started sobbing while passing me. The other two had suffered unfortunate loss of their beloved children & mother. God, please let it not be the case with this sensitive couple. Or is it worse than that? Probably he lost his wife, too! Perhaps she is someone who is kind enough to have extended support to this man in sharing his grief!

I can’t even tell them that my children are too far and that I am not sure if I may ever see them before this disease kills me. The thoughts are drifting my mind again and again. I should complete this sweater as my granddaughter shall need it in the winters that would arrive in next month. I need to consider the time involved in the transit of the shipment, too!


 

The woman:

God! I am grateful to you having blessed me with such a kindhearted husband. Why is that you are taking so long to fulfill our only wish in life? We did not complain because we also understand that there will always be some or the other inadequacy in everyone’s life.

But already he is upset with the complications being faced in our effort of adopting a child, as we finally considered it to be the best option to make the lives of three of us happier; and here we stumble upon this aunty while we are trying to find peace of mind, in the park!

Well, I have to cheer my sweetheart up! I shall also knit such sweater for our ‘would be’ daughter; perhaps a baby pink one!


 

The man:

Whenever I think about the sorrow in my life, I look at this old woman who happens to be my patient. I call her Aunty.

Her sufferings seem to never end. She lost her son and daughter in law five years back. They were coming to see her while their plane crashed. Her son had told her that she was going to become granny soon!

I have got such a wonderful and understanding wife. She has been my strength while I have become quite edgy nowadays.

I must learn to control my emotions like Uncle. He has faced all these events with great courage and is now living only to look after Aunty. She was caught with Alzheimer’s two years back when both of them visited my clinic for the first time.

Sometimes, like now, I feel, the disease has been a blessing in disguise for her. At least she is happy knitting this baby sweater…

4 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Nine: Changing Moccasins — Point of View

  1. this is beautiful! and i’m so inspired how you’re moving through writing 101. there’s a real tenderness and loving that comes through all of your writing. and it’s touching 🙂

Leave a Reply

